OC Re-Certification Training for LEO
The purpose of this training is to re-certify department officers in the use of OC.
The goal of the training is to provide additional knowledge, drills, and skill base performance as it pertains to the use force continuum to prevent unlawful incidents.
*Go to Class Schedule tab to “Purchase”
Police departments should take a course of action to train police officers for a task that will be recurring doing the course of their careers. Officers should be trained to the department policy and that should be the same for any weapon on their duty belt according to the agencys’ policy.
The overall goal is to avoid civil and criminal liabilities issues for failure-to-train. A yearly training commitment with lethal and non-lethal weapons will ensure the department will not fall below minimum training standards with regular in-service training.
Under Chapter 9 of the Texas Penal Code [TPC], written laws guide the use of force by law
enforcement in the State of Texas. However, police officers are not immune to prosecution. In Section
9.05, a peace officer who recklessly injures or kills an innocent third person is not protected by a defense to prosecution (TPC, 2020).
Even if a police officer is justified in the use of deadly force, an accidental injuring or killing of an unintended target will not protect the officer from prosecution. In a deadly force encounter, generally, the peace officer is the only one in the encounter who is concerned about following the law. This section of the law provides a clear disadvantage to the officer.
The desired result of the training is to provide additional knowledge, drills, and skill base performance as it pertains to the use force continuum to prevent unlawful incidents. As training yearly with lethal weapons, just as effective as training with duty issued non-lethal weapons yearly. If there is a gap in the officers’ training, then it is time to make some adjustments.——————————————————————————————————————————————-
- This is a 2-hour training class.
- Inert canister spray used for training and practice only.
- OC Certification is good for one year.
- TCOLE Reporting Number #3343
- Cost $40.00 per student
What should students bring to class?
- Pen and Paper for note-taking
- Safety glasses or goggles
All Fees are Non-Refundable.
Taught by: OC Certified Instructors, TCOLE Certified Instructors
*Go to Class Schedule tab to “Purchase“
*iSafety Defense does not offer legal advice instead, we offer guidance for improving self-defense situations. We recommend individuals seek legal advice should the need arise.